How I Remix With Adobe Premiere Pro

For my Final Project I wanted to focus on some sort of kaleidoscope effect. I was originally unsure of what would be in my kaleidoscope. I was invited to come watch some fireworks on a friend’s rooftop, and I took my D90 Nikon camera and zoomed to where the action was.

I put the footage in my favorite program, Adobe Premiere Pro, and searched for tutorials on YouTube. I found a video, although I found it very confusing, and managed to follow the instructions to get the look I desired.

How to Make a Kaleidoscope Effect in Adobe Premiere Pro:

  1. Apply the ‘mirror’ affect to your clip
    • -45° and 1525, 1080
  2. You then ‘nest’ your clip
  3. Copy and paste your clip so that it is on the layer above your original clip
  4. Then apply the following affects to the top nested clip:
    • ‘Horizontal flip’
    • ‘Crop’ left to 50%
    • ‘Mirror’ 90° and 1544, 540
  5. You also need to apply ‘mirror’ to the bottom nested clip
    • 90° and 1544, 540
  6. You might want to apply ‘crop’ to the bottom nested clip if you are also planning to turn the opacity of the clip down
    • Right to 50%

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 1.41.43 am

I got to the stage that I thought the fireworks looked abstract enough but there was not enough to look at. It was boring by itself. I found a silhouette of a woman dancing on YouTube. The video had very minimal background, and I used ‘ultra key’ to remove it. There were still shadows around the corners, no matter how much I fiddled with the sliders, so I removed most of them using ‘eight-point garbage matte’. I then inverted the video and pushed down the opacity to 40% so you could still see the kaleidoscoped fireworks. Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 1.40.54 am

Because the opacity of the dancer I can layer the dancer up. I created this affect by starting each clip a little bit after the below it. I also altered the ‘scale’ of each dancer to make them more separate from one another. The fact that I can layer is one of the reasons I enjoy using this program so much.

Screen Shot 2015-10-16 at 1.42.25 am

At this stage I had a little bit over one minute of overall footage and I check the requirements for this assignment before exporting my finished video. I now have to add at least one more minute of footage to be within the brief. Not entirely sure what I will add to make this video better and longer.

How I Remix With Adobe Premiere Pro

One thought on “How I Remix With Adobe Premiere Pro

Leave a Reply

